Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve spent the bulk of my free time the past few weeks looking into ballet classes for adults. I haven’t danced in much longer than I’d like to admit, but once upon a time, I did. As a kid, though, I never had the focus or commitment to really learn ballet (see: I though it was lame), and thus I was more of a tap/jazz dancer than prima ballerina. With the wisdom and hindsight of age, however, I wish that I had given it more of my attention. Rather, I wish someone had forced me to learn to be a pretty, pretty ballerina (perhaps like others wish someone had tied them to the piano bench until the notes stuck).

In an interest to spice up my workout regimen, I used this nostalgic regret as motivation. I decided I would go back to dance to really learn ballet. I searched and searched until I found a studio with a class at a time that worked for me, and then three weeks later I finally worked up the courage to go. The strength and grace (and posture!) of a ballet dancer would soon be mine!

Or so I’d hoped. Instead, it went a little something like this.

chalk drawing of ballerina

To give myself fair credit, this “oopsy-daisy” didn’t occur until the class was nearly over, so I managed to stay upright for a full hour and fifteen minutes of it. And while I have yet to be upright since, I like to think that that was pretty good.

broken footThis was taken right after the class ended. The initial golf-ball sized bump has since expanded to encompass over 2/3 of my foot and the bruise is settling in for what will surely be a good month.

foot wrapped in ice pack

This is how I’ve been living since (see: horizontal, no improvement in posture). Why, yes, that is an ice pack wrapped in a dish towel secured with rubber band. Thank you for noticing!

Why do I reveal this embarrassment to you all on Wordyless Wednesday? Because I need not be embarrassed. Trying new things, or retrying previously enjoyed things, no matter the outcome, is worth celebrating. Being nervous or scared is to be expected, but the victory comes in doing it anyway. Whether it’s a hobby, a career path, or a parenting approach, the only failure, as they say, is in not trying. I may hobble now, but I do so with a renewed sense of empowerment. I can do whatever I set my mind to, and even things I don’t set my mind to, like breaking my foot.

Just a little inspiration on falling down to get back up for you midweek. Or, a few moments to laugh with me at my fumble. Whichever you need more is ok with me.

“It’s not up to you how you fall. It’s up to you how far you let yourself fall and how long it takes you to get back up and stand on your own two feet.”

– Sr. Tac Jeffrey Mitchell

